Drawing as an Observational Tool

Illustration of a flea by Robert Hooke.
Illustration of a flea by Robert Hooke.

I came across a Scientific American article today titled “Rediscovering the Forgotten Benefits of Drawing.”  I’ve made extensive use of drawing in my middle school biology classes for years now, and I think it is a very useful tool for promoting careful observation.  I have not used drawing much in my high school biology classes because I feel significant pressure to cover large quantities of material in limited amounts of time.  That pressure isn’t going away, but reading this article has made me think it would be valuable to offer a biological illustration class for older students that is explicitly interdisciplinary.  Such a class might also be a good way to get students who don’t identify as “science people” to take more science classes than they otherwise would.

Illustration of a house mouse by Beatrix Potter.
Illustration of a house mouse by Beatrix Potter.
Leave a Reply

